Society History

Established in January 1990 on the Sesquicentennial of the first session of the Supreme Court of the Republic of Texas, the Society’s incorporation papers were filed with the Secretary of State by three former Chief Justices: Robert Calvert, Joe R. Greenhill and Jack Pope. The founding president, Judge Jack Hightower, then serving as Justice on the Texas Supreme Court, enlisted the support of the court for creating the Society and procured the cooperation and assistance of the State Bar of Texas.

Soon after its creation, the Society sponsored ceremonies dedicating the new Price Daniel Sr. building in 1993 and the renovations to the Tom Clark building in 1996.

Texas Appellate

Site Policies | ©2024 TEXAS SUPREME COURT HISTORICAL SOCIETY | P.O. Box 12673, Austin, Texas 78711
Site Designed by First Step Internet